REVIEW: Girl Having a Ball by Rhoda Baxter

17591855Having a Ball

Version: Kindle Edition

Published March 15th 2013 by Untreed Reads Publishing

*ARC received from Netgalley/Untreed Reads Publishing in return for an honest review*


Description:

Her first assignment takes her to a stunning manor house in Oxford where she is tasked with organising a charity ball on a shoestring. Between canapé worries, celebrity guests and trying to keep the hyper-critical Lady Beryl happy, Stevie’s teenage crush, Tom, resurfaces to confuse things even further.

But ‘poor needy little Stevie’ is now ‘Stevie the strong woman’ and she won’t let a man get in the way of her dreams – will she?


Thoughts:

Maybe it’s me…Maybe it’s the mood I’m in currently. What I wanted was a light-hearted read. A little romance to keep the cold day away. I mean seriously I’m a HUGE romance fan! Pom Poms and everything

Girl Having a Ball looked like the right read! It has a lovely quirky cover, a sappy romance where you are cheering for the lead characters to get it on. The whole love conquers all shebang! I should be over the moon ecstatic ~RIGHT?

When all I’m left with is a feeling of blah! So let me explain why….Stevie lost her parents when she was very young, her brother Marsh had to step up and he did an exceedingly good job. Now he’s married and Stevie has to stand on her own two feet to prove that she has grown up and can manage without her steadfast brother. A Charity Ball and a returning childhood crush make for an interesting read.

Yep. That’s what I thought and yet here I am in all my blah-ness?! Confused and bewildered as to how I’m feeling blah about this book.

Spoiler Alert! [It has to be Tom {the childhood crush}! He’s sweet and totally clueless. His determination to remain single is well just basically silly. Maybe it’s the hang-ups about the age difference though neither really decision the supposed issue. (hide spoiler)]

I can’t quite put my finger on it… Girl Having a Ball was just missing something. The magical sparkle that turns it from an average read to a book you want to reread over time.


Score: 2/5

Gold disco discoballGold disco discoball

FOLLOW ME:… @closetgeekbookgroup (click link below)
Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Blog | WattpadFacebook

Leave a Reply

