MOVIE REVIEW | #FANTASTICBEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

fi9hkrw

PLOT SUMMARY:

The year is 1926 and Newt Scamander has just completed a global excursion to find and document an extraordinary array of magical creatures. Arriving in New York for a brief stopover, he might have come and gone without incident…were it not for a No-Maj (American for Muggle) named Jacob, a misplaced magical case, and the escape of some of Newt’s fantastic beasts, which could spell trouble for both the wizarding and No-Maj worlds.

The adventures of writer Newt Scamander in New York’s secret community of witches and wizards seventy years before Harry Potter reads his book in school.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, would it be as good as Harry Potter? What would the characters be like? Would I like them as much as Harry Potter or would I love them more? And who would be my favourite character?

All I knew was J.K Rowling would be introducing me to another magical world and the inner child in me was shouting “HELL YES!” {yeah my inner child has a potty mouth}

Before the movie was released I read the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them textbook version and that was a little challenging to say the least. It’s been awhile since I’ve read a textbook…it took me back to my school days.

LET ME INTRODUCE YOU TO A FEW BEASTS….

The Niffler …..

The Bowtruckle…..

The Occamy…..

I WORSHIP mystical creatures… you know Unicorns, dragons, fairies etc. I mean who doesn’t??? This movie is a PERFECT fit for me and thankfully there are going to be 5 movies in total! Yes that’s right 5 movies…5 movies where I get to become even more smitten with Newt Scamander (aka Eddie Redmayne)

You’re an interesting man, Mr. Scamander. Just like your suitcase, I think there’s more to you than meets the eye. Kicked out of Hogwarts for endangering human life with a beast, yet one of your teachers argued strongly against your expulsion. I wonder… what makes Albus Dumbledore so fond of you, Mr. Scamander?

– Percival GravesFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

In answer to my original questions…

I was blown away by the magical world in New York 1926, it’s an era that is intriguing in its own right… add magical beasts and I’m not sure what more you could add to make it a match made in heaven.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them for me surpasses Harry Potter {now before you start arguing here’s my reasons why} Newt is awkward and intelligent, he first thought is about the Beasts in his suitcase. He’s adorable in his passion for rescuing misunderstood creatures and only wants what’s best for them. It’s that awkwardness that connects with me, more so that the hardship and tribulations that Harry Potter had to go through to become the man is now. Newt Scamander is already a man and his kind-hearted soul is clearly shiny through. He’s definitely not a people person, he’s happier talking to his beasts but he does try.

FAVOURITE BEAST:- Has to be the mischievous #Niffler he’s adorable in his cheekiness.

While Newt Scamander is my favourite character of the movie his side kick Jacob Kowalski is unique in his acceptance of the magical world and all its wonders….

Aww, I wanna be a wizard.

Jacob Kowalski, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

Trivia:-  Within the Harry Potter universe, Newt Scamander’s “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” was first published in 1927 and became a massive bestseller, as well as an approved textbook at Hogwarts. By the mid-1990s, when the Harry Potter series is set, it was in its 52nd edition. Scamander also has the distinct honor of having his own Chocolate Frog Card.

Should you see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? HELL YES!

I personally recommend it you won’t be disappointed.

If like me you have become a #FANGIRL or #FANBOY of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them why don’t you check out Pottermore there’s an entire section to meet all your FBWFT needs…

Cast Interviews, Behind the Scenes stuff, Soundtrack and so much more.

GET A COPY: AMAZON | WATERSTONES | BOOK DEPOSITORY

HAVE YOU SEEN THE MOVIE? WHO IS YOU FAVOURITE CHARACTER? WHICH BEAST IS YOUR FAVOURITE?

PLEASE COMMENT BELOW AND TELL ME WHAT YOU THOUGHT!

 FOLLOW ME:… @closetgeekbookgroup (click link below)
Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Blog | Wattpad | Facebook

SOURCES:- POTTERMORE | IMDB

8 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW | #FANTASTICBEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

  1. Pingback: [27-NOV-16] Sunday Post # 205 | Closet Geek Book Group

  2. I love mythical creatures and this movie seems like a perfect fit for me, even though I’ve only read the firs HP book ( I know, I know). But I saw what looks like a griffon (?) in the trailer, and I keep hearing about this Niffler creature ha ha. So I’m anxious to go see this.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: [01-DEC-16] MONTHLY WRAP-UP | Closet Geek Book Group

Leave a Reply

